Ravenswood’s unrightful ruler

January 10, 2009 at 10:46 am (Music, Politics) (, , , )

I’m at my parents’ house in the Chicago suburbs, and 90% of what’s on the news and talk radio is Blagojevich.  Since it’s local news, I learned something I hadn’t known otherwise: Blagojevich is a resident of Ravenswood Manor.

Anyone else feel a connection here?  Another ruler of another Ravenswood, selling his sister for financial and political gain… I especially like the way that, as I was fact-checking my memories of the plot differences between the book and the opera, Literary Encyclopedia describes how Ashton took the property by “dubious legal means.”

I’m holding my breath that at the next poetry reading, he recites Sir Walter Scott.

3 Comments

  1. Veronique said,

    I love the connections between literature and other modes of presentation like in Lucia.

    I recently posted an entry that ties Scott’s novel with Donizetti’s opera and the murky beginnings of it all in The Borders region of Scotland. You may care to take a look.

    I shifted to Scotland nearly 3 years ago and am fascinated with this country!! So I blog about it inter alia.

    Cheers

    • Amanda White said,

      Now you gotta try to see the opera live! Don’t worry, since it is, as you said, Donizetti’s most-performed opera, there’s bound to be a showing near you! :)

  2. Veronique said,

    Indeed. Edinburgh is a good place for opera any way. Thanks for replying!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers

